Regional Information

Nigeria is not normally the first destination in West Africa that one thinks of when it comes to tourism or travel, and having a reputation of being one of the world’s most chaotic places hasn’t helped either. Yet for the adventurous traveller, Nigeria promises to be a challenging, exciting, memorable and educational experience, offering the opportunity to experience West Africa and to see this raw and vibrant country with all its hidden wonders.

Welcome to the MyDestination Nigeria travel guide, the official online guide covering where to go and what to do when in the Republic of Nigeria, commonly referred to as Nigeria. The name Nigeria is formed from the words ‘Niger’ and ‘area’, and was first proposed by Lady Flora Shaw, who later married Lord Lugard the 1st Governor-General of the Colony and Protectorate of Nigeria. At the time she was based at Lokoja the then capital of the goverment of Nigeria by the River Niger in the 19th century.

Nigeria is West Africa’s most visited country, and Africa’s ninth most visited as a whole. It is also Africa’s most populous, with more than 140 million people and more than 370 diverse ethnic groups. It is home to Lagos, a city with an estimated population that exceeds 10 million, and therefore is on the United Nations’ list of mega-cities.
Nigeria is located in south-western coastal Africa, and shares its borders with Niger, Benin, Chad, and Cameroon in Central Africa to the south-east. Nigeria’s total land mass covers 923,768km and is five times larger than Ghana, 13 times as large as Sierra Leone and occupies a seventh of West Africa.

Nigeria boasts great stretches of unbroken sandy beaches bordering the Atlantic to its south, mangrove swamps in its Niger Delta, mahogany forests to the west, savanna grasslands in the middle belt, and arid bush lands to its north. The main rivers are West Africa’s greatest river – the Niger – and the Benue River, which converge and flow into the Niger Delta. This is one of the world’s largest river deltas and home to the Central African mangroves.

Nigeria is both blessed and diverse, offering a variety of things to see and explore, from its rich cultural heritage to its various festivals. Come and mingle with its warm friendly people and visit its cities, towns and villages. Relax on its beaches, or come and explore the forests and mountains; there’s something in Nigeria for everyone.

The country is home to about 200 different and distinct tribes, the largest of which are the Hausa and Fulani (in the north), the Yoruba (in the south-west), and the Igbo (in the east).

Nigeria is divided into 36 colourful states and each state enjoy a high degree of autonomy. They can set industrial policies and independently seek to attract investment. This is usually done within the broader national policy and must comply with federal rules (with regard to import duties, for example). Each state is categorise into six distinct geographical regions:

North Central

  • Benue State – Food Basket of the Nation
  • Kogi State – Confluence State
  • Kwara State – State of Harmony
  • Nasarawa State – Home of Solid Minerals
  • Niger State – Power State
  • Plateau State – Home of Peace and Tourism
  • Abuja – Centre of Power

North Western

  • Jigawa State – The New World
  • Kaduna State – Liberal State
  • Katsina State – Home of Hospitality
  • Kebbi State – Land of Equity
  • Sokoto State – Seat of the Caliphate
  • Zamfara State – Agricultural Products

North Eastern

  • Adamawa State – The Highest Peak of the Nation
  • Bauchi State – Pearl of Tourism
  • Borno State – Home of Peace
  • Gombe State – Jewel of the Savanna
  • Taraba State – Nature’s Gift to the Nation
  • Yobe State – The Young Shall Grow

South South

  • Akwa Ibom State – Promised Land
  • Bayelsa State – Pride of the Nation
  • Cross River State – The People’s Paradise
  • Delta State – The Big Heart
  • Edo State – Heartbeat of Nigeria
  • River State – Treasure Base of the Nation

South Western

  • Ekiti State – Fountain of Knowledge
  • Lagos State – Centre of Excellence
  • Ogun State – Gateway State
  • Ondo State – Sunshine State
  • Osun State – State of the Living Spring
  • Oyo State – Pace Setter

South Eastern

  • Abia State – God’s Own State
  • Anambra State – Home for All
  • Ebonyi State – Salt of the Nation
  • Enugu State – Coal City State
  • Imo State – Land of Hope