North East Region Guide

The north-eastern part of Nigeria comprises of six states, with this region mostly known for the production of crops and livestock which contribute greatly to the economy of the country. The region is densely populated as compared to the southern region of the country. The major tribes are Hausa and Fulani and they are largely Muslim.




Adamawa State- Land of Beauty


This state is one of those formed in 1991 from part of Gongola State and the capital is Yola. The state occupies about 36,917km2 and has Borno State to the north-west, Gombe State to the west, and Taraba State borders it to the south-west. The eastern border of the state also serves as a national border with Cameroon. Adamawa State has mountainous land with large river valleys crossing it, including River Benue and River Gongola, with the Adamawa and Mandara mountains and the valleys of Cameroon forming part of the landscape.

The majority of the people are farmers, and are well known for cotton and groundnut as this contributes to the economy of the nation; they also produce maize, yam, cassava, guinea corn, millet and rice. The Fulanis are cattle-rearers while the villagers living on the river banks are mostly fishermen.




Bauchi State – Pearl of Tourism


The capital city of this state is also known as Bauchi, and until 1976 the state was a province in the then North-Eastern State. Bauchi State occupies 49,119km2 of Nigeria’s total land mass, bordered to the north by Kano and Jigawa State, to the south by Taraba and Plateau State, Kaduna to the west and Gombe and Yobe to the east. There are 55 major tribes that form the tribal groups in the state, including Badawa, Bolewa, Butawa, Fa’awa, Fulani, Gerawa, Hausa, Jarawa, Kanuri, Karekare, Savawa, Wariawa and Zulawa.




Borno State – Home of Peace


Borno State was formed from the then North-Eastern State in 1976 with Maiduguri as its capital. The state is mainly dominated by the Kanuri and Babur with few Shuwa Arab ethnic groups. Borno occupies about 70,898km2, sharing borders with Niger Republic to the north, Cameroon to the east, Chad to the north-east, Adamawa State down south, Gombe State to the east and Yobe State to the north-west.

The state is an example of enduring traditional political institutions in some parts of Africa, with the Emirs of the former Kanem-Bornu Empire contributing majorly in the politics of the area for about 1000 years.




Gombe State – Jewel in the Savannah


Gombe State was created on 1st October, 1996 by the then General Abacha administration, with its capital city also called Gombe. The state is bordered by Borno and Yobe State to the north and east respectively, Taraba and Adamawa State to the south and Bauchi State to the west. It covers an area of about 20,265km2 with most of the people coming from the Fulani tribe.

The state is endowed with natural resources such as uranium, gypsum and limestone. There are 21 languages spoken here which include Fulfulde, Hausa, Tangala and Waja.




Taraba State- Nature’s Gift to the Nation


Taraba, with the capital city of Jalingo, was created from the former Gongola State in 1991 by the then military head of state, General Babangida. The state is named after the major Taraba River. Bordered to the west by Plateau and Benue States, Republic of Cameroon to the east and Gombe State to the north, Taraba occupies about 54,473km2 of Nigeria. River Benue, Donga, Taraba and Ibi are the main rivers rising from the Cameroon mountains and all link to the River Niger.

The people of Taraba State largely make their living through farming, and produce crops such as coffee, tea, cotton and groundnuts, maize, rice, millet, cassava and yam. They also rear cattle, sheep and goats, with other livestock production activities like poultry, rabbit breeding and pig farming, thus making the state one of the major livestock production areas in the country.




Yobe State- Pride of the Sahel


Yobe State, which is mainly agricultural and covers an area of about 45,502km2, was created in 1991 with Damaturu as its capital. The state shares borders with Borno State to the east, Gombe State to the south, Bauchi and Jigawa States to the east and Niger Republic to the North.

The people are mainly known to be farmers, fishermen or livestock rearers. The state also boasts of one of the largest cattle markets in West Africa and has deposits of natural resources like gypsum, kaolin and quartz.