North West Region Guide

The north west region of Nigeria offers a wide range of Islamic beauty and culture, from the Seat of Caliphate in Sokoto to the Land of Equity to the Free Trade Zone in Jigawa. It was formed from parts of the old Northern Region.
This area of the country covers six states; Sokoto, Zamfara, Kebbi, Kaduna, Katsina, Jigawa. It majorly consists of Hausas and Fulanis and the religion in the region is Islam. The weather is usually dry and the temperature drops at night.




Jigawa – The New World


Jigawa is on the border to Zinder Region, a republic of Niger. It has 27 local government areas.

Jigawa is bordered also by Kano and Katsina to the west, Bauchi State to the east and Yobe to the northwest. You will find various sizes of sand dunes spanning several kilometers in parts of the state. The area has vast stretches of fertile and arable land to which most tropical crops could adapt.




Kaduna State – Centre of Education


Kaduna State has its origin in the old Northern Region of Nigeria. It’s capital is Kaduna City and the ancient city of Zaria is situated in Kaduna. You will find different dialects of the Hausa language here; Adara, Gbangyj, Gong, Atyap, Ninkyob and Kura are all spoken. The state has over seven national educational institutes, which is why it is known as the ‘centre of education’.




Katsina State – Home of Hospitality


Katsina was created out of Kaduna State in the late 1980s. The population consists majorly of Hausa-Fulanis, and the state is mostly muslim although the Church of Nigeria has a Diocese of Katsina. The Redeemed Christian Church of God and the Roman Catholic Church are also in the state. A large number of icons from Nigerian and African history originated from Katsina.




Kebbi – Land of Equity


Kebbi was created from Sokoto in 1991, and is known as the ‘land of equity’. The state, bordered by Sokoto, Niger and Benin, is said to have originated from Assryrian refugees fleeing Babylon. Kebbi is about 36,800km2, with fairly rocky terrain in the southern parts and swathes of sandy landscapes in the north. There is plenty of agricultural production in the state and Islam is the main religion here.




Sokoto – Seat of the Caliphate


Sokoto State (capital: Sokoto City), is a state in the extreme north west of Nigeria. Sokoto is said to mean ‘market’ in very old Arabic origins. It was created by a military Head of State, and the Sultan is the spiritual leader, which has caused it to be known as the ‘Seat of The Caliphate’. As expected, the city is totally Muslim, and it is an important area of Islamic learning in Nigeria. Few crops grow in Sokoto, due to the area being generally dry and not very arable.


Zamafara – Home of Agricultural Products


This is another very old Hausa state. It goes beyond the River Rima and River Ka to the south, and is inhabited mainly by Hausas and Fulanis. It became a state when a late military Head of State left office. It has an area of 38418km2, and in the north lies Niger Republic, in the south Kaduna State, to the east it is bordered by Katsina State and to the west by Sokoto and Niger.